City Council

Find Your Councilmembers

*Begin typing your address, then choose from the list that appears after you have entered at least
your house number and a space.

Councilmembers for Ward


Ward/Precinct Map

Overland Park operates under a Mayor-Council-City Manager form of government.

The Governing Body consists of the mayor and 12 councilmembers. The mayor is elected at-large and serves a four-year term. Two councilmembers are elected from each of the city's six wards and serve staggered four-year terms.

The governing body annually identifies legislative priorities for the City for both the state legislature and Congress. The priorities are delineated in the City's State Legislative Program and National Legislative Program.

Councilmember Directory

Mayor Carl Gerlach

Ward 1
Council President Terry Happer Scheier
Councilmember Logan Heley

Ward 2
Councilmember Curt Skoog
Councilmember Paul Lyons

Ward 3
Councilmember Dave White
Councilmember Jim Kite

Ward 4
Councilmember Fred Spears
Councilmember Gina Burke

Ward 5
Councilmember John Thompson
Councilmember Faris Farassati

Ward 6
Councilmember Rick Collins
Councilmember Chris Newlin

City Council Meetings

City Council meetings generally are held at 7:30 p.m. the first and third Mondays of each month in the Council Chamber of City Hall, 8500 Santa Fe Drive. The public is welcome.

See agendas and minutes for City Council meetings.

Please contact the City Clerk's Office at 913-895-6155 or email for information about the process for presenting items to the City Council. or if you need accommodations for the meeting. (Kansas Relay Service 1-800-766-3777). Please give 48 hours' notice.

Committee of the Whole Meetings

Committee of the Whole meetings are called periodically for special topics and include the City Council and mayor. Meetings usually are held in Conference Room No. 1 of City Hall, 8500 Santa Fe Drive.

See agendas and minutes for Committee of the Whole meetings.