City Government

Overland Park is a first-class city that operates with a mayor-council-city manager form of government.

The Mayor and 12 City Council members make up Overland Park’s Governing Body, which approves codes and ordinances, identifies and prioritizes projects and services within Overland Park, and sets annual state and federal legislative priorities for the City.

City staff work within 12 departments and report to the City Manager’s Office.