Coronavirus Affects City Services

To prevent the spread of coronavirus in our community, Johnson County Government has ordered residents to stay at home except for essential needs, beginning Tuesday, March 24 for 30 days.

The Overland Park Arboretum & Botanical Gardens, Recycling Center, and playgrounds and shelters at City parks are closed, and many other City services are affected by this order.

See Details

Show alerts

REC Book Club

Read, exercise, and converse with other book lovers at Tomahawk Ridge Community Center’s monthly book club.

Meet other avid readers to discuss a predetermined book.

This group meets the first Thursday of the month. The meeting is free and open to everyone.

Address

8101 Marty
Overland Park, KS 66204

Phone

913-895-6350

Hours

7-8:30 p.m.

Upcoming REC Book Club Meetings

REC Book Club

When

May 7, 2020
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Location

Matt Ross Community Center

REC Book Club

When

June 4, 2020
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Location

Matt Ross Community Center

REC Book Club

When

July 2, 2020
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Location

Matt Ross Community Center

REC Book Club

When

August 6, 2020
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Location

Matt Ross Community Center

REC Book Club

When

September 3, 2020
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Location

Matt Ross Community Center

REC Book Club

When

October 1, 2020
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Location

Matt Ross Community Center

2020 Books

The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan
January 2, 2020

Forty years ago Anthony Peardew has lost a keepsake from his fiancée, Therese. On that same day Therese has died, and he regrets that loss. He has become a rescuer of lost objects. He bequeaths his task to Laura. This is a heartwarming story for fans of books like Garden Spells and Silver Linings Playbook.

My Sister the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite
February 6, 2020

This is a mystery about two Nigerian sisters. The younger rids herself of unwanted boyfriends by killing them. The older cleans up after the carnage. When murder threatens the elder’s would-be suitor, she vows to make a change.

Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty-Written
March 5, 2020

Written by the best-selling Moriarty, this novel is about nine people who gather at a remote health spa. They are there to work hard on their different issues, but the group cannot imagine how hard the next ten days will be.

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
April 2, 2020

This is a good read for friends of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell. Set in 1969 on the North Carolina coast this book is an ode to nature, a coming-of-age story and a possible murder mystery rolled into a single novel.

This Tender Land by William Kent Kruger
May 7, 2020

From the author of Ordinary Grace, this is for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and Before we Yours.This novel is the story of four orphans life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression. 

Beneath a Scarlett Sky by Mark Sullivan
June 4, 2020

This is a novel based on the WWII adventures of a real-life hero. This is a multi-faceted story of a young man who guides Jews across the Alps, chauffeurs a Nazi general, spies for the partisans, and loves a war widow. Part true and part fiction, this novel is for fans of The Nightingale and Unbroken.

The Kitchen God’s Wife by Amy Tan
July 2, 2020

Winnie and Helen share each other’s secrets. Because Helen thinks she is dying, she wants to expose everything. Winnie reasons that she is forced to share her past with her daughter. The story moves from 1920s China to post WWII America.

The Orphan’s Tale by Pam Jenof
August 6, 2020

A traveling circus in WWII is the setting for this story of a war and a tenuous friendship. This novel is full of intrigue.

Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult
September 3, 2020

The popular Picoult tells the story of the death of a mother who has been absent in her daughter’s life. The grieving daughter, Helen, pours over her mother’s elephant studies for clues to her mother’s disappearance and resulting absence from her life.

The Good Daughter by Karen Slaughter
October 1, 2020

Two girls are forced into the woods at gun point. Only one returns. Twenty-eight years later, Charlotte is practicing law with her father when violence strikes again. Memories unveil secrets about the crime.

The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead
November 5, 2020

This novel is based on a real-life reform school. Set in Jim Crow era Florida this novel narrates a tale of hope brought on by the Civil Rights movement. This hope contrasts with cruel reality.

Furious Hours by Casey Cep
December 3, 2020

Reverend Willie Maxwell murders five family members and escapes justice until he, himself, is shot at the funeral of his last victim. The killer is acquitted. In the courtroom is Harper Lee, who wants to write her own true crime nove.