School Resource Officers

For nearly 20 years, the Police Department has had uniformed officers in the middle and high schools, serving as School Resource Officers, or SROs. These officers provide a variety of educational materials to their school communities and provide law enforcement information and guidance to students, parents and school staff.

School Resource Officers provide a positive police presence within their respective schools and investigate criminal matters that occur on school grounds and/or are school-related.

2017-2018

Blue Valley School District

Blue Valley Academy

Officer Doug Rison

O: 913-239-4505
C: 913-535-3205
doug.rison@opkansas.org

Blue Valley High

Officer Trevor Burgess

O: 913-239-4825
C: 913-302-1913
trevor.burgess@opkansas.org

Blue Valley North

Officer Tina Morse

O: 913-239-3025
C: 913-909-5247
tina.morse@opkansas.org

Blue Valley Northwest

Officer Richard Spandle

O: 913-239-3406
C: 913-535-3253
richard.spandle@opkansas.org 

Blue Valley West

Officer Brandon Faber

O: 913-239-3711
C: 913-669-7184
brandon.faber@opkansas.org

Blue Valley Southwest

Officer Matthew Buelt

O: 913-624-2061
C: 913-535-3259
matthew.buelt@opkansas.org

Harmony & Oxford Middle

Officer Tracy Gibson

O: 913-239-5236 (HMS)
O: 913-239-5531 (OMS)
C: 913-535-3262
tracy.gibson@opkansas.org

Blue Valley & Pleasant Ridge Middle

Officer Rachel Scattergood

O: 913-239-5135 (BVMS)
O: 913-239-5729 (PRMS)
rachel.scattergood@opkansas.org

Lakewood & Overland Trail Middle

Officer Antoinette Covington

O: 913-239-5823 (LMS)
O: 913-239-5427 (OTMS)
C: 913-535-3260
Antoinette.Covington@opkansas.org

Aubry Bend

Officer Michael Mosher

O: 913-624-2329
C: 913-449-0714
michael.mosher@opkansas.org

 

Saint Thomas Aquinas High School

St. Thomas Aquinas

Officer Ken Ufford

O: 913-319-2431
C: 913-669-7242
ken.ufford@opkansas.org

 

Shawnee Mission School District

Shawnee Mission North

Officer Travis McClanahan

O: 913-993-6922
C: 913-535-3255
travis.mcclanahan@opkansas.org

Shawnee Mission West

Officer Jose Carrillo

O: 913-993-7822
C: 913-535-3247
jose.carrillo@opkansas.org

Shawnee Mission South

Officer Kyle Lathrop

O: 913-993-7522
C: 913-535-3253
kyle.lathrop@opkansas.org

Indian Woods Middle

Officer Justin Seals

O: 913-993-0622
C: 913-535-3199
justin.seals@opkansas.org

Westridge Middle

Officer Dana Harrison

O: 913-993-1206
C: 913-909-5171
dana.harrison@opkansas.org

School Zone Safety

Police conduct targeted enforcement of school zones during the school year, checking for speeders and seat belt violators in order to keep our students safe.

School crossing guards work with Overland Park police to allow young pedestrians a safe walk to and from school. Crossing guards go through a rigorous selection process and, once hired, are trained both in the classroom and on-site. They are equipped with the necessary safety gear: reflective safety vests, stop signs, and weather appropriate apparel.

Most crossing guards work an hour a day; 30 minutes each in the morning and afternoon. The pay rate is $11 per crossing slot, or $22 per day. Crossing guards also are paid for school holidays and are eligible for four $100 bonuses a year. To learn more about becoming a crossing guard, call 913-327-6903.