Fire Inspections

The Fire Department inspects all commercial, educational, institutional and multi-family residential buildings within the city on a regular basis to ensure they meet safety codes.

Inspectors are assigned to buildings based on their locations within the city:

Contact Contact
Mark Sweany, fire marshal
Complaints, blasting permits, fire investigations

mark.sweany@opkansas.org
913-895-8454
913-890-1509 (fax)

Mitch Storm, senior inspector
South side of 79th Street south to north side of 95th Street
mitch.storm@opkansas.org
913-895-6185
913-890-1185 (fax)
Brian Parsons, senior inspector
South side of 95th Street south to north side of College Street
brian.parsons@opkansas.org
913-895-6186
913-890-1186 (fax)
Trevor Miller, inspector
South Side of College Street south to north side of 127th Street

trevor.miller@opkansas.org
913-895-6176
913-890-1176 (fax)

Suzanne Coleman, inspector
South side of 127th Street to north side of 143rd Street

suzanne.coleman@opkansas.org
913-895-6271
913-242-1276 (fax)

Mike F. Casey, assistant fire marshal
South side of 143rd Street south to 207th Street

mike.f.casey@opkansas.org
913-895-6175
913-890-1175 (fax)
Kurt Neis, inspector
Merriam and areas North of 79th to the County line; east of Nall Avenue, 95th to College Blvd
kurtis.neis@opkansas.org
913-895-6145
913-890-1145 (fax)

Service Fees

After an inspection, the OPFD will assess a service fee per the following chart. Re-inspection return times may vary depending on the severity of violations.

0-50,000 sq. ft.
51,000-200,000 sq. ft.
200,000 + sq. ft.
Initial Inspection: Business owners or managers have 30 days to correct any violations.
$0 $0 $0
First Re-inspection: If violations still exist, inspectors will give a one week warning and assess a fee.
$100 $250 $400
Second Re-inspection: If violations still exist, inspectors will give a second warning, determine a re-inspection time and assess a fee .
$200 $350 $500
Third Re-inspection: If violations still exist, inspectors will assess fee and issue a notice to appear in court.
$300 $450 $600